1st International Workshop on Drone Communication and Applications (DCA2019)

Final Extended Submission Deadlines

Paper due: April 30, 2019
Author Notification: May 10, 2019
Camera-ready due: May 15, 2019
Early Registration Deadline: May 17, 2019

Call For Papers
In conjunction with the 11th International Conference on Ubiquitous and Future Networks from July 2 to 5, 2019 in Zagreb, Croatia.

Utilization of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) or drones as mobile base stations or relays is a new paradigm that can enhance network throughput and extend coverage in cellular networks. Unlike static ground base stations, drone base stations can be dynamically deployed and can adjust their positions to support various quality of service (QoS) requirements and balance load between heterogeneous cells by providing alternative communication links in an efficient manner. In some cases, for instance, natural disasters or in marine environments, deploying ground base stations in a timely manner can be almost impossible, and for such cases a drone base stations aided communication network can be extremely helpful. UAVs or drones have been also regarded as key communication platforms for wireless sensor networks or internet of things (IoT) applications, which can efficiently gather/ disseminate or deliver sensing data by using the capability of fast deployment and controllable mobility.

Technical Topics
The focus of the workshop will be on dealing with recent advances in UAV or drone aided communication systems and their sensor or IoT applications, including theoretical frameworks, algorithm and protocol designs, and experimental/implemental results. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • UAV aided 5G/B5G communication architectures
  • QoS requirement of UAV communication systems
  • Load balancing, coverage extension of UAV communication systems
  • Cooperative communication protocols for UAV communication systems
  • Emergency or safety applications
  • UAV position/trajectory optimization for UAV communication systems
  • Prototype/implementation for UAV applications
  • Machine leaning for UAV communication systems
  • Energy efficient UAV fusion protocols for sensor/IoT applications
  • Energy harvesting in UAV communication systems
  • Wireless caching in UAV communication systems
  • UAVs for V2X/V2V communications

All papers must be submitted electronically, in PDF format, and uploaded on EDAS. The direct link for paper submission is (https://edas.info/newPaper.php?c=25428&track=96276. There are two options for the submissions, either a full paper or a short paper. We decided to allow the submission of short papers in order to accommodate the most recent research outcomes. The submissions should be formatted with single-spaced, double-column pages using at least 10 pt (or higher) size fonts on A4 or letter pages in IEEE style format. The maximum number of pages is 6 for full papers and 3 for short papers. Detailed formatting and submission instructions will be available on the conference web site (http://www.icufn.org).

Accepted and presented papers will be published in the ICUFN 2019 Conference Proceedings. Also extended versions of selected papers will be published in the following international journals as a special issue or section for the ICUFN 2019.

  • Wireless Personal Communications (SCIE)
  • International Journal of Distributed Sensor Networks (SCIE)
  • Journal on Internet Technology (SCIE)
  • Mobile Information System (SCIE)
  • Sensors (SCIE)
  • ICT Express (Scopus)
  • Recent Advances on Communications and Networking Technology

Steering Committees

  • Yong Soo Cho (Chung-Ang University)
  • Sang-Woon Jeon (Hanyang University)
  • Bang Chul Jung (Chungnam National University)
  • Sung Hoon Lim (Korea Institute of Ocean Science and Technology)

Organizing Committee Co-Chairs:

  • Kyunghan Lee (UNIST)
  • Yon-Wong Shin (Yonsei University)
  • Jingon Joung (Chung-Ang University)

Technical Program Committee Co-Chairs

  • MinKeun Chung (Lund University)
  • Hu Jin (Hanyang University)
  • Jun-Bae Seo (IIT Delhi)
  • Han Lim Lee (Chung-Ang University)
  • Si-Hyeon Lee (POSTECH)